ACCREDO FINANCIAL SERVICES LIMITED

Company number 09175326 ·

Active

This analysis was written by an AI from the company's public filings. It may contain errors or omissions and is not financial or professional advice.

Investment Risk Assessment: ACCREDO FINANCIAL SERVICES LIMITED

1. Risk Rating: MEDIUM-HIGH

The rating reflects significant concerns around liquidity deterioration, an extremely concentrated debtor book, and a thin equity buffer relative to total assets. While the company demonstrates long-term operational continuity and asset growth, the rapid cash depletion and heavy reliance on "other debtors" and "other creditors" – categories that lack transparency in small company accounts – introduce material uncertainty regarding financial stability.


2. Key Concerns

Concern 1: Severe Cash Deterioration

Cash has declined from £119,900 (2022) to £64,742 (2023) to £19,471 (2024) – an 83.7% reduction over two years. With only £19,471 in cash against £526,128 in current liabilities, the company has minimal liquidity headroom. The cash-to-current-liabilities ratio stands at approximately 0.037, indicating the company would struggle to meet near-term obligations without converting debtors to cash or securing additional funding. This trajectory is unsustainable if it continues.

Concern 2: Concentration Risk in "Other Debtors"

£625,698 of the £645,169 in current assets (97%) is classified as "other debtors" rather than trade debtors. This classification is atypical for a financial services firm and raises questions about the nature, recoverability, and related-party status of these balances. If a significant portion of these debtors is inter-company or related to the PSC (Acp (No 1) Limited), the realisable value and independence of the company's asset base become questionable. No provision for doubtful debts is disclosed.

Concern 3: "Other Creditors" Dominance and Leverage

£480,595 of £526,128 in current liabilities (91%) is categorised as "other creditors," with only £19,621 being trade creditors. The identity and terms of these creditors is unknown. Total liabilities represent 81.6% of total assets, leaving a thin equity layer. If "other creditors" includes related-party loans callable on demand, the solvency position could deteriorate rapidly.


3. Positive Indicators

  • Long-term Operational Continuity: The company has been active for approximately 10 years (incorporated 2014) and has grown total assets from £100 to £645,169 over that period, demonstrating business viability.

  • Improving Net Asset Position: Net assets have grown from near-zero in early years to £98,718, with retained earnings increasing from £98,421 to £98,618 in the latest year. This indicates the company is profitable at the operating level, even though the P&L is not disclosed.

  • Regulatory Compliance: Accounts and confirmation statements are filed on time with no overdue filings. The company appears to maintain proper administrative governance.

  • Employee Growth: Average employee count increased from 1 to 3, suggesting business expansion rather than contraction.


4. Due Diligence Notes

Priority Investigations:

  1. Nature of "Other Debtors" (£625,698): Request full breakdown. Determine whether these are inter-company balances, loans to directors/connected persons, or legitimate third-party receivables. Assess ageing and recoverability. If related-party, understand the terms and whether they are secured.

  2. Nature of "Other Creditors" (£480,595): Identify who these creditors are. If they are related-party loans (potentially from Acp (No 1) Limited or Mr Paul Julian Phillips), understand the repayment terms, security, and whether they are subordinated. This is critical for assessing true solvency.

  3. PSC Structure Anomalies: The PSC register shows what appears to be duplicate entries for Acp (No 1) Limited, plus Mr Paul Julian Phillips also holding over 75% of shares. This overlapping ownership declaration requires clarification. Investigate Acp (No 1) Limited's financial position, as the ultimate controlling entity's stability directly affects this company.

  4. FCA Regulatory Status: As a company with SIC code 66190 (Activities auxiliary to financial intermediation), determine whether FCA authorisation is required and held. Financial services firms operating without proper regulatory coverage represent significant reputational and legal risk.

  5. Director Resignation: Michael David McKenna resigned in May 2026 (likely a data entry error; possibly 2025). Clarify the circumstances and whether this affects operational capability or signals internal disagreements.

  6. Registered Office Discrepancy: The company overview shows a Nottingham residential address, while the filed accounts reference a Gateshead trading estate. Confirm the current operational base and whether this represents a recent relocation.

  7. Cash Flow Sustainability: With cash at £19,471 and declining, request cash flow projections and understand how the company plans to meet obligations over the next 12 months. Is there a committed funding facility or parent company support letter?

  8. Income Statement: Small company filing exemptions mean the P&L is not disclosed. Request management accounts to understand revenue trajectory, margin profile, and whether profitability is sufficient to service the liability structure.


Perspective: Investment Risk Assessor · Model: glm-5.1 · Generated 17 August 2026