EASYSOFT LIMITED
Company number 02780502 · Monitor this company
This analysis was written by an AI from the company's public filings. It may contain errors or omissions and is not financial or professional advice.
Risk Analysis: EASYSOFT LIMITED
1. Risk Rating: MEDIUM
Justification: While the company demonstrates strong net asset growth and minimal leverage, the concentration of assets in listed investments (approximately 69% of total assets), significant intercompany balances, and limited financial disclosure under the small companies regime introduce material uncertainty regarding the quality and recoverability of those assets. The dramatic cash fluctuations in recent years also warrant scrutiny.
2. Key Concerns
Concern 1: Investment Portfolio Concentration and Volatility
Fixed asset investments of £8.73M represent approximately 69% of total assets (£12.66M). These are listed investments measured at fair value through profit or loss. The portfolio declined from £9.85M (2024) to £8.73M (2025), representing an unrealised loss of approximately £1.13M. Disposals of £1.79M were made during the year, with additions of £665K. This concentration creates significant market risk, and the fair value movements could materially impact reported net assets in any given period. The nature and diversification of these investments is not disclosed.
Concern 2: Intercompany Balances and Group Structure
Debtors include £1.80M "amounts owed by group undertakings" – representing approximately 95% of total debtors and 14% of total assets. This is a persistent balance (comparable to £1.80M in 2024), suggesting it may be a semi-permanent intercompany loan rather than a trading balance. The recoverability of this balance depends entirely on the financial health of the group undertaking(s), which is not disclosed. Additionally, the PSC structure shows both "Steve Ltd" (a corporate entity) and Mr Stephen John Hill holding >75% of shares and voting rights, suggesting a complex control arrangement that warrants clarification.
Concern 3: Cash Flow Opacity and Historical Volatility
The cash position has exhibited extreme volatility: £8.23M (2022) → £110K (2023) → £210K (2024) → £1.78M (2025). The near-zero cash positions in 2023-2024, despite holding substantial investment portfolios, raise questions about liquidity management and whether cash was deliberately redeployed or withdrawn. As the company files under the small companies regime with no profit and loss account, cash flow drivers (operating, investing, financing) cannot be determined from available filings. The 2025 recovery to £1.78M is encouraging but does not fully resolve concerns about cash management practices.
3. Positive Indicators
Strong Solvency Position
Net assets of £11.66M against total liabilities of just £974K yields a debt-to-assets ratio of approximately 7.7%. The company has minimal financial leverage and substantial equity buffers. Current assets of £3.68M comfortably exceed current liabilities of £974K, yielding a current ratio of approximately 3.78:1.
Consistent Long-Term Growth
Net assets have grown every year for the past decade, from £3.74M (2016) to £11.66M (2025). This represents a compound annual growth rate of approximately 13.5%, indicating consistent value creation. The 2025 profit (inferred from the increase in shareholders' funds) is approximately £670K.
Regulatory Compliance and Corporate Stability
All filing obligations are current with no overdue documents. The company has been active since 1993 (over 30 years). The directors have made a going concern assessment and confirmed the company can continue trading. Employee numbers have remained stable at 13 for both 2024 and 2025.
Low Trade Creditor Exposure
Trade creditors of £81.5K are modest relative to the asset base, suggesting the company is not stretching supplier terms to manage cash flow. Taxation and social security liabilities of £185K appear proportionate.
4. Due Diligence Notes
Priority Investigations
-
Investment Portfolio Composition: Request details of the listed investment portfolio, including sector/geographic concentration, individual holdings, and the basis for fair value measurement. Understand the investment strategy – is this a treasury function or a core business activity? The nature of the portfolio significantly affects risk.
-
Group Structure and Intercompany Balances: Identify the group undertaking(s) owing £1.80M and assess their financial strength. Determine whether this balance is interest-bearing, secured, or subordinated. Investigate "Steve Ltd" as PSC – its financial position directly affects the recoverability of the intercompany debt and the stability of the control structure.
-
Cash Flow Reconciliation: Request cash flow statements or bank records to understand the drivers behind the 2022-2023 cash depletion (from £8.23M to £110K) and the 2025 recovery. Specifically, determine whether the cash was deployed into investments, paid as dividends, or transferred to group entities.
-
Profit and Loss Account: The company has elected not to file a profit and loss account. Request full P&L details to assess revenue trends, operating margins, and the split between operating profit and investment gains/losses.
-
Dividend History: Given the consistent net asset growth, investigate whether dividends have been paid to shareholders, which would affect the retained earnings trajectory and cash requirements.
-
Provisions: The balance sheet includes provisions of £27.8K (2025) and £35.9K (2024). Understand the nature of these provisions and whether they relate to contingent liabilities.