HUDSONS DEVELOPMENTS LIMITED

Company number 05264901 ·

Active

This analysis was written by an AI from the company's public filings. It may contain errors or omissions and is not financial or professional advice.

CREDIT ANALYSIS: HUDSONS DEVELOPMENTS LIMITED

1. Credit Opinion: DECLINE

Reasoning: This company is technically insolvent with net liabilities of £264,091 and has demonstrated a sustained deterioration in financial position since 2021. Net assets have worsened from £3,408 (2021) to negative £264,091 (2024), with no evidence of debt service capability, no visible profit generation, and limited financial disclosure due to micro-entity filing status. The balance sheet cannot support additional credit exposure.


2. Financial Strength: CRITICAL

The balance sheet presents significant structural weaknesses:

Metric 2024 2023 2022 2021
Total Assets £858,520 £911,073 £999,200 £1,114,093
Total Liabilities £1,122,221 £1,119,213 £1,126,441 £1,121,606
Net Assets (£264,091) (£207,981) (£127,241) £3,408
Share Capital £101 £101 £101 £101

Key concerns:

  • Insolvent since 2022: Net assets turned negative in 2022 and have deteriorated by approximately £56-56k per annum since. The accumulated P&L reserve deficit stands at approximately £264,192 against share capital of just £101.

  • Liabilities exceed assets by £264k: Creditors due within one year (£1,122,221) significantly exceed current assets (£856,617), creating a net current liability of £264,894.

  • Asset erosion: Total assets have declined by £255,573 (23%) between 2021 and 2024, suggesting either asset write-downs, cash depletion, or trading losses.

  • Fixed assets negligible: Only £1,903 in fixed assets (down from £5,773 in 2023), indicating the business has minimal tangible asset backing.

  • No going concern disclosure: The filed accounts contain no mention of going concern status or director support for the company's continued trading, which is a significant omission given the insolvent position.

Related party considerations: The PSC structure shows both Banyard Group Limited and Mr Terence Hudson owning 75%+ of shares, and the company was previously named Banyard Developments Limited. The liabilities may include significant intercompany balances owed to group entities, but this cannot be confirmed from micro-entity accounts.


3. Cash Flow Assessment: POOR

Cash flow visibility is severely limited by micro-entity filing, which requires only a balance sheet. However, the available data reveals concerning patterns:

Year Cash Net Assets
2017 £546,166 £181
2018 £133,356 £779
2019 £738,860 £3,390
2020 £274,268 £18,634
2021 £1,112,238 £3,408
2022 £303,632 (£127,342)
2023 Not disclosed (£207,981)
2024 Not disclosed (£264,091)

Observations:

  • Extreme cash volatility: Cash has swung between £133k and £1.1M over recent years, consistent with a property or investment vehicle receiving and deploying capital in lumpy transactions rather than generating stable operating cash flows.

  • Cash depletion in 2021-2022: Cash fell from £1.1M to £303k (a £809k reduction) coinciding with the shift into net liability position, suggesting either investment losses or capital extraction.

  • No cash disclosure from 2023: Micro-entity accounts are not required to disclose cash, removing visibility from 2023 onwards.

  • No revenue or profit data: As a micro-entity, no profit & loss account is filed, making it impossible to assess trading performance, margins, or debt service coverage.

  • Working capital deficit: Net current liabilities of £264,894 indicate the company cannot meet its short-term obligations from current assets without additional funding or asset realisations.


4. Monitoring Points

If any exposure exists or is being considered (which is not recommended), the following require ongoing surveillance:

  1. Going concern viability: Require director confirmation of support and any formal undertakings to maintain solvency. The absence of such disclosure in current filings is a red flag.

  2. Intercompany balances: Investigate the nature of the £1.12M in current liabilities—determine what portion relates to Banyard Group Limited or other connected parties versus third-party creditors.

  3. Cash position: Request up-to-date bank statements. The last disclosed cash position (2022: £303k) may have deteriorated further given the continued net asset decline.

  4. Asset quality: Understand the composition of the £856k in current assets—are these trade debtors, investments, or intercompany receivables? Realisable value may differ from book value.

  5. Group structure: Assess the financial health of Banyard Group Limited as the controlling entity, as group-level support or distress will directly impact this company.

  6. Filing compliance: Monitor for timely filing of accounts and confirmation statements. Currently compliant, but micro-entities in distress sometimes fall behind.

  7. Legal status: Watch for any changes to company status, charges, or director appointments/resignations that may signal restructuring or distress.


Additional Context

  • Company age: 20+ years old (incorporated 2004), but long history does not compensate for current insolvency.
  • Director: Single director (Mr T L Hudson)—concentration of control and key-person risk.
  • No disqualification records identified for the director.
  • SIC code 96090 (other service activities n.e.c.) provides no useful industry context for credit assessment.

Perspective: Business Credit Analyst · Model: glm-5.1 · Generated 27 July 2026