KERR & NOBLE LIMITED
Company number 01200164 · Monitor this company
This analysis was written by an AI from the company's public filings. It may contain errors or omissions and is not financial or professional advice.
Risk Analysis: KERR & NOBLE LIMITED (01200164)
1. Risk Rating: LOW
Justification: Kerr & Noble Limited presents a stable financial position with consistent positive net assets, a healthy current ratio of approximately 3:1, and no long-term debt obligations as of the latest filing. The company has been operational for nearly 50 years and maintains compliant filing status. However, the rating is tempered by stagnant equity growth and a notable 25% reduction in headcount, which warrant monitoring.
2. Key Concerns
a) Stagnant Capital Growth Despite Significant Asset Base
Over the eight-year period from 2017 to 2025, net assets have grown from £562,305 to £572,150 – an increase of approximately £9,845, or roughly 1.7% cumulatively. For a wholesale trade business with total assets exceeding £840,000, this suggests either minimal profitability, significant profit extraction by shareholders, or both. The P&L reserve grew by only £292 between 2024 and 2025 (£571,788 to £572,080), which is particularly notable given the reduction in employee costs that year.
b) Significant Headcount Reduction
Employee numbers dropped from 20 to 15 between 2024 and 2025 – a 25% reduction. While this may reflect operational efficiency measures or automation, a reduction of this magnitude in a wholesale trade business typically signals either cost-cutting in response to margin pressure or a contraction in trading volume. Without a P&L account (which the company has elected not to file, as permitted under the small companies regime), the underlying profitability impact cannot be determined.
c) Unexplained Historical Discontinuity (2016–2017)
Net assets fell dramatically from £1,329,102 (2016) to £562,305 (2017) – a reduction of approximately £766,797. Cash dropped from £864,767 to £312,631 in the same period. This could indicate a large dividend distribution, a capital restructuring, or a significant loss. Without access to the 2017 filed accounts, the cause remains unclear and represents a gap in understanding the company's capital allocation history.
3. Positive Indicators
a) Strong Liquidity Position
Current assets of £820,407 against current liabilities of £265,181 yield a current ratio of approximately 3.09:1. Cash at bank stands at £190,531, providing a reasonable buffer. The company appears well-positioned to meet its short-term obligations.
b) Elimination of Long-Term Debt
Creditors due after more than one year were reduced from £6,104 to nil, removing any long-term debt obligations from the balance sheet. This reduces solvency risk and interest burden.
c) Long-Established Trading History
Incorporated in 1975, the company has survived multiple economic cycles over nearly 50 years. This longevity in the wholesale trade sector suggests a resilient business model and experienced management.
d) Regulatory Compliance
Accounts and confirmation statements are filed on time with no overdue indicators. The company has maintained consistent filing discipline.
e) Improving Trade Debtor Management
While trade debtors increased from £190,733 to £230,862 (21% increase), this should be viewed alongside the reduction in trade creditors from £242,699 to £213,093. The company appears to be managing its working capital cycle, though the debtor days calculation would require turnover data (which is not disclosed).
4. Due Diligence Notes
a) Profitability Verification Required
The company has elected not to file a profit and loss account, which is permitted under the small companies regime. This means revenue, cost of sales, and net profit figures are unavailable. An investor should request management accounts or full statutory accounts directly from the company to assess trading profitability, margins, and trends.
b) Related Party and Group Structure
Kerr & Noble Holdings Limited holds 75%+ of shares and voting rights, with Mr Peter John Trevitt also holding 75%+ individually. This overlapping PSC declaration suggests the holding company and Mr Trevitt hold their interests through different share classes or that the holding company is itself controlled by Mr Trevitt. The relationship between the operating company and the holding company should be examined for inter-company balances, guarantees, or transactions that could affect the subsidiary's financial position.
c) 2016–2017 Capital Movement
The £766,797 reduction in net assets between 2016 and 2017 requires explanation. If this was a dividend distribution, it suggests significant cash extraction by shareholders. If it resulted from trading losses or asset write-downs, it raises questions about the business's risk profile during that period. The 2017 filed accounts should be obtained from Companies House.
d) Trade Debtor Quality
Other debtors (£311,364) represent a significant portion of total debtors (£542,226) and have remained relatively stable year-on-year (£317,645 in 2024). The nature of these "other debtors" should be clarified – whether they represent inter-company balances, loans to directors, or other amounts that may not be readily recoverable.
e) Provisions
A provision of £4,170 exists on the balance sheet (up from £3,730), but the nature is not disclosed in the abbreviated accounts. Understanding whether this relates to employee obligations, warranties, or other contingencies would inform risk assessment.
f) Stock Valuation
Stocks of £87,650 represent approximately 10.4% of total assets. In a non-specialised wholesale trade business, stock obsolescence and valuation accuracy are relevant considerations. The accounts state stock is held at the lower of cost and net realisable value, but no provision for obsolescence is separately disclosed.