RAYMARK (LONDON) LIMITED

Company number 03264822 ·

Active

This analysis was written by an AI from the company's public filings. It may contain errors or omissions and is not financial or professional advice.

Risk Assessment: RAYMARK (LONDON) LIMITED

1. Risk Rating: MEDIUM

Justification: While the company demonstrates improved liquidity and maintains current filing obligations, the severely eroded equity base (£4,807 net assets against £250,231 total liabilities), escalating intercompany obligations, and a pattern of volatile financial performance over the past decade present material concerns. The company's recovery from technical insolvency in FY2020-2021 is encouraging but remains fragile given the thin capitalisation.


2. Key Concerns

Concern 1: Severe Equity Erosion

Net assets have declined from £57,012 (FY2015) to £4,807 (FY2024), representing a 92% reduction over nine years. Shareholders' funds (£3,807) are negligible relative to total liabilities (£250,231), yielding a debt-to-equity ratio of approximately 66:1. The company was technically insolvent in FY2020 (net assets: -£15,597) and FY2021 (net assets: -£9,801). While equity has turned positive, the margin is perilously thin and provides virtually no buffer against trading losses or asset impairments.

Concern 2: Escalating Intercompany Debt

Amounts owed to group undertakings increased by 67% from £60,000 (FY2023) to £99,920 (FY2024), now comprising 40% of total liabilities. This trend raises questions about whether the parent entity (New Kingdom (Holdings) Limited) is injecting capital through debt rather than equity, potentially prioritising creditor claims over equity resilience. The terms, repayment schedules, and subordination status of this intercompany debt are not disclosed and require clarification.

Concern 3: Deteriorating Trade Working Capital Dynamics

Trade creditors increased by 29% from £116,458 to £150,456, while trade debtors decreased by 26% from £142,094 to £105,116. This divergence may indicate: (a) stretched supplier payment terms due to cash management pressures, (b) reduced sales volumes, or (c) more aggressive collection practices. Without P&L data (the company has filed filleted accounts under s444(1)), the underlying revenue and margin trends cannot be independently verified.


3. Positive Indicators

  • Strong Cash Position: Cash at bank improved by 43% from £164,285 to £235,184, suggesting active cash management and potentially reduced reliance on overdraft facilities (which remain at £10,000, unchanged year-on-year).

  • Positive Working Capital: Net current assets of £105,609 (current ratio of 1.42:1) indicate the company can meet short-term obligations from current assets, a meaningful improvement from the position in earlier years.

  • Regulatory Compliance: Accounts and confirmation statements are filed and up to date with no overdue filings. The company has maintained continuous registration since 1996, indicating operational longevity.

  • Recovery from Insolvency: The transition from negative net assets in FY2020-2021 to a positive (albeit thin) position demonstrates some capacity for financial rehabilitation.

  • Tangible Asset Base Largely Depreciated: With net book value of only £8,788 on plant & machinery (original cost £143,154), the company is not carrying significant asset valuation risk, and capital expenditure requirements may be modest in the near term.


4. Due Diligence Notes

  1. Parent Company Financial Health: Investigate the financial position of New Kingdom (Holdings) Limited. The subsidiary's reliance on intercompany funding (£99,920) creates contagion risk if the parent encounters financial distress. Obtain and review the parent's latest consolidated accounts.

  2. Intercompany Debt Terms: Clarify whether the intercompany balances are subordinated, interest-bearing, or repayable on demand. The classification as "Amounts falling due after more than one year" suggests longer-term arrangements, but the terms should be confirmed.

  3. Profitability Assessment: The company has elected to file filleted accounts, meaning revenue, cost of sales, and profit/loss data are not publicly available. Request management accounts or full statutory accounts directly from the company to assess whether the equity erosion is driven by operational losses, asset write-downs, or dividend distributions.

  4. Trade Creditor Aging: Request a breakdown of trade creditor aging. The 29% increase in trade creditors warrants investigation into whether this reflects normal trading cycles or payment distress.

  5. Revenue and Margin Trends: With 20 employees (down from 22) and declining trade debtors, assess whether the business is contracting. Obtain turnover figures for the past 3-5 years to establish the trajectory.

  6. Related Party Transactions Beyond Intercompany Debt: The accounts note only group undertaking balances, but given the family-owned nature of the business (Dhedhi family involvement as directors and PSCs), examine whether there are additional related-party transactions, director loans, or guarantees not disclosed in the abbreviated filings.

  7. Industry Context: The UK textile finishing sector has faced significant competitive pressure from lower-cost overseas producers. Assess the company's competitive positioning, order book, and customer concentration risk.


Perspective: Investment Risk Assessor · Model: glm-5.1 · Generated 23 July 2026