SPRINGWOOD PARK LIMITED
Company number 03951826 · Monitor this company
This analysis was written by an AI from the company's public filings. It may contain errors or omissions and is not financial or professional advice.
Credit Analysis: SPRINGWOOD PARK LIMITED
1. Credit Opinion: CONDITIONAL
Reasoning: The company demonstrates a sound balance sheet with consistent net asset growth, minimal liabilities, and strong liquidity. However, the micro-entity filing status severely limits financial disclosure—no profit & loss account, no cash flow statement, and incomplete turnover data beyond 2021. As a residents' property management company (SIC 98000), the business model differs materially from a commercial enterprise; revenue derives from service charges collected from residents rather than trading activity. Credit approval is warranted but should be conditional on receiving full management accounts and service charge budget projections to properly assess debt service capacity.
2. Financial Strength
Balance Sheet Summary (Year Ending 31 March 2025):
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | £45,443 | £37,557 | N/A | £47,203 | £40,910 |
| Total Liabilities | (£200) | (£131) | (£200) | (£5,825) | (£3,662) |
| Net Assets | £45,243 | £37,426 | £44,867 | £41,935 | £37,248 |
| Shareholders' Funds | £45,243 | £37,426 | £44,867 | £41,935 | £37,248 |
Key Observations:
- Consistent Net Asset Growth: Net assets have grown 21% from £37,248 (2021) to £45,243 (2025), indicating accumulation of reserves rather than distribution.
- Minimal Leverage: Liabilities of just £200 represent near-negligible gearing. The company operates essentially debt-free.
- Share Capital at £30: The disparity between share capital (£30) and shareholders' funds (£45,243) confirms that reserves have built substantially through retained surpluses—typical for a residents' management company accumulating funds for future maintenance.
- No Fixed Assets: The absence of fixed assets across all periods suggests the company holds no property or long-term investments; assets are predominantly cash or current balances.
- Liquidity Position: Based on 2021 data (the only year with cash disclosure), £40,375 of £40,910 total assets was cash—a current ratio effectively mirroring the net current assets figure of £45,243 (2025).
Concern: The 2023 filing is incomplete (total assets not reported), which raises data quality questions. This appears to be a filing anomaly rather than a material issue given the overall trajectory.
3. Cash Flow Assessment
Limited Visibility: Micro-entity accounts do not require a cash flow statement or turnover disclosure. The only turnover figure available is £23,050 for YE 2021.
Working Capital Position: - Net Current Assets (2025): £45,243 - Current Liabilities (2025): £200 - Current Ratio: ~227:1 — exceptionally strong, though characteristic of this business type where service charges are collected in advance and held for future expenditure.
Revenue Assessment: The 2021 turnover of £23,050 provides a baseline, but the figure is now four years old. For a residents' management company, this likely represents annual service charges collected from leaseholders. The steady increase in net assets from £37,248 to £45,243 over four years suggests either: - Annual surpluses averaging approximately £2,000 per year, or - One-off contributions/increased service charges
Debt Service Capacity: Without current P&L data, calculating precise interest cover or debt service coverage ratios is impossible. However, the accumulated reserves of £45,243 against minimal liabilities suggest the company could service modest debt obligations from existing cash reserves if required.
4. Monitoring Points
| Metric | Current Status | Risk Level | Action Required |
|---|---|---|---|
| Filing Compliance | Accounts filed on time; confirmation statement current | Low | Continue monitoring |
| PSC Register | Only a statement filed; no identified PSCs | Medium | Request clarification on ownership/control structure |
| Turnover Trends | Last disclosed turnover YE 2021 (£23,050) | Medium | Obtain management accounts for current revenue assessment |
| Service Charge Arrears | Unknown | Medium | Request service charge collection data and arrears report |
| Major Expenditure Plans | Unknown | Medium | Understand planned capital expenditure (e.g., roof repairs, communal area refurbishment) |
| Cash Reserves Adequacy | £45,243 appears healthy but context-dependent | Low-Medium | Assess against anticipated maintenance obligations |
| Director Composition | 7 directors, no disqualification records | Low | Verify directors are resident leaseholders with vested interest in company performance |
| Contingent Liabilities | Not disclosed in micro-entity accounts | Medium | Enquire about any pending disputes, contractual commitments, or Section 20 notices |
Additional Context: Business Model Considerations
This is a Residents' Management Company (RMC)—a legal structure common in leasehold properties where the company is owned by the leaseholders to manage communal areas and services. Key implications for credit assessment:
- Revenue Predictability: Service charges provide relatively stable income, though collection rates can vary.
- Profit Motive: RMCs typically aim to break even rather than generate profit. Surpluses represent pre-funded future maintenance.
- Governance: Seven directors (likely all leaseholders) provides broad oversight but may slow decision-making.
- Longevity: 25-year track record suggests established operational stability.
- Credit Purpose: Any lending is likely for capital improvements or bridging timing differences between service charge collection and expenditure—relatively low-risk purposes.