WEIR ORCHARD LIMITED
Company number 08275725 · Monitor this company
This analysis was written by an AI from the company's public filings. It may contain errors or omissions and is not financial or professional advice.
Credit Analysis: WEIR ORCHARD LIMITED
1. Credit Opinion: CONDITIONAL
Reasoning: This company presents significant credit concerns despite technical solvency. While net assets stand at £126,358, the balance sheet is dominated by uncalled share capital (£128,317) — money owed by shareholders rather than a liquid asset. Cash reserves are negligible at £665, working capital is negative, and there are accumulated losses that continue to erode equity. Any credit facility would require robust security, likely a charge over the underlying property asset that is not visible in these micro-entity accounts.
The company is a real estate holding vehicle (SIC 68100) that almost certainly holds property not disclosed in these abridged accounts. Without sight of property valuations, rental income, or a full P&L, unsecured lending cannot be supported. Conditional approval only on the basis of adequate property security and personal guarantees from directors.
2. Financial Strength
Balance Sheet Composition (as at 31 October 2024):
| Item | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|
| Uncalled Share Capital | £128,317 | £128,317 |
| Cash | £665 | £228 |
| Total Current Assets | £665 | £228 |
| Creditors (< 1 year) | (£2,624) | (£2,091) |
| Net Current Liabilities | (£1,959) | (£1,863) |
| Net Assets | £126,358 | £126,454 |
| Share Capital | £132,000 | £132,000 |
| P&L Reserve | (£5,642) | (£5,546) |
| Shareholders' Funds | £126,358 | £126,454 |
Key Observations:
-
Uncalled share capital dominates the asset side: £128,317 represents amounts owed by shareholders for shares issued but not paid. This is not a realisable asset for creditors — it depends on the ability and willingness of shareholders to pay.
-
Accumulated losses are deepening: P&L reserve has deteriorated from (£5,546) to (£5,642), indicating a further £96 loss in the year. Losses have accumulated every year since incorporation.
-
Share capital has remained static at £132,000 throughout the entire filing history, suggesting no new equity injections.
-
No fixed assets disclosed: As a micro-entity, the company is not required to show fixed assets. Given the SIC code (buying and selling of own real estate), property almost certainly exists off-balance-sheet in these abridged accounts. This is the critical missing piece.
-
Liabilities are entirely director-related: Note 3 references "DIRECTORS" under creditors, confirming the £2,624 payable is owed to directors rather than trade creditors or lenders.
3. Cash Flow Assessment
Liquidity Position — Critically Weak:
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | Trend |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cash | £665 | £228 | Improved but minimal |
| Current Ratio | 0.25x | 0.11x | Improved but still <1.0x |
| Working Capital | (£1,959) | (£1,863) | Deteriorating |
Cash Trajectory (Historical):
| Year | Cash |
|---|---|
| 2016 | £2,711 |
| 2017 | £1,786 |
| 2018 | £702 |
| 2019 | £222 |
| 2020 | £533 |
| 2021 | £38 |
| 2022 | £74 |
| 2023 | £228 |
| 2024 | £665 |
The cash position has been in secular decline over the past decade, falling from £2,711 to £665. The minor recovery in 2024 is insufficient to alter the assessment. The company has operated with virtually no cash buffer for several years.
Working Capital Deficit: The company cannot meet current liabilities from current assets. It relies entirely on the forbearance of director-creditors, who are owed £2,624. While this is a small amount, the structural deficit is a concern.
No Visible Revenue Stream: Zero employees and micro-entity status suggest this is a passive property holding vehicle with no trading operations. Any income would derive from property rent or capital gains on disposal — neither visible in these accounts.
4. Monitoring Points
| Risk Factor | Metric to Monitor | Current Status | Concern Level |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cash depletion | Cash balance | £665 | 🔴 High |
| Working capital | Net current assets/liabilities | (£1,959) | 🔴 High |
| Accumulated losses | P&L reserve movement | (£5,642), worsening | 🟡 Medium |
| Director creditor position | Amount owed to directors | £2,624 | 🟡 Medium |
| Property valuation | Not disclosed | Unknown | 🔴 High |
| Filing compliance | Accounts/CS overdue | Current | 🟢 Low |
| Director conduct | Disqualification records | None found | 🟢 Low |
Specific Monitoring Requirements:
-
Property Valuation: Obtain an independent valuation of any real estate held. This is the primary asset class and critical for any secured lending decision.
-
Rental Income Verification: Request bank statements to confirm any rental income and assess debt service capability.
-
Uncalled Share Capital: Clarify the arrangement regarding £128,317 of uncalled capital. Who owes this? What are the terms? Is there any realistic prospect of collection?
-
Director Loan Subordination: Ensure any director loans (£2,624) are subordinated to the bank's facility.
-
P&L Deterioration: Monitor whether losses continue to accumulate. Any acceleration would erode the already thin equity position.
-
Filing Compliance: Company is currently compliant. Continue to monitor for overdue filings which could signal governance issues.
-
PSC Register: The PSC entry shows only a generic statement rather than identified individuals. This should be clarified — who actually controls this company?
Additional Governance Observations:
- Four directors and one secretary for a company with zero employees and no visible trading activity is unusual. This may indicate a syndicate or family arrangement typical of property holding companies.
- The registered address (Splash Cottage, Sunbury-On-Thames) may also be the investment property itself.
- Accounts were approved on 27 August 2025 for a 31 October 2024 year-end — a 10-month delay, though within filing deadlines.