DVS LTD
Company number 04963144 · Monitor this company
This analysis was written by an AI from the company's public filings. It may contain errors or omissions and is not financial or professional advice.
Investment Risk Analysis: DVS LTD (Companies House No. 04963144)
1. Risk Rating: LOW
The company presents a low-risk profile based on 21 years of continuous trading, an expanding equity base (£9.85m → £10.39m → £11.62m over three reporting periods), demonstrated profitability, and the financial backing of Midwich Group plc as ultimate parent undertaking following the January 2022 acquisition. No overdue filings or governance red flags are evident in the public record.
2. Key Concerns
1. Limited visibility of recent balance sheet detail. Only shareholders' funds are disclosed for 2021 and 2022; current asset and current liability breakdowns are not visible in the available data. This restricts the ability to assess working capital trends, gearing, and the composition of net assets beyond the most recent full balance sheet (October 2020). I cannot independently confirm current liquidity headroom from the data provided.
2. EBITDA contraction. Reported EBITDA reduced from £2,634,114 (14-month period to December 2021) to £1,925,027 (12-month period to December 2022). The directors attribute this partly to the non-comparable period length, and gross margin actually improved from 14.2% to 14.9%. However, the underlying trajectory of operating profitability in a competitive distribution sector warrants ongoing monitoring, particularly given the modest headcount reduction from 88 to 80 by year-end 2022.
3. Reliance on invoice discounting facility. The strategic report explicitly references an invoice discounting facility used to manage working capital. While standard practice for distributors and supported by the directors' statement of facility headroom, this means a portion of trade receivables is encumbered. The facility terms, limits, and any covenants are not disclosed in the extracted accounts text.
3. Positive Indicators
- Long trading history: Incorporated November 2003, over 21 years of continuous operation with no insolvency or dissolution events on record.
- Growing equity base: Shareholders' funds increased by approximately 18% over the three reporting periods visible, from £9.85m to £11.62m.
- Group backing: Midwich Group plc, a substantial AIM-quoted group, became ultimate parent in January 2022, providing access to group resources, shared services, and treasury support.
- Improved margins: Gross margin strengthened from 14.2% to 14.9% in 2022, attributed to reduced freight costs.
- Risk-mitigated receivables: Trade debtor credit risk is insured, reducing exposure to bad debt.
- Clean compliance record: No overdue accounts or confirmation statements; the 2022 accounts were signed within the statutory filing window; FRS 101 transition has been handled with appropriate disclosure (note 23).
- Unqualified audit opinion: UHY Hacker Young issued an unqualified opinion on the 2022 financial statements.
- SECR compliance: Energy and carbon reporting included as required for large unquoted companies.
4. Due Diligence Notes
- Obtain full 2022 balance sheet to assess current assets, current liabilities, working capital trend, and any gearing position not visible in the headline figures.
- Review invoice discounting facility agreement — confirm facility limits, covenants, renewal terms, and headroom against peak receivables.
- Confirm parent support arrangements — whether DVS benefits from a parent guarantee, group treasury support, or cross-guarantee arrangements from Midwich Group plc.
- Assess customer concentration risk — the trade-only customer base is not disclosed by concentration in the extracted text.
- Request management accounts for 2023 and 2024 — the available financial data only runs to December 2022, which is now dated; current trading performance cannot be assessed from public filings.
- Review 2024 accounts when filed — these are due by 30 September 2026 and will provide the most current view of post-acquisition performance under Midwich ownership.
- Verify SIC code alignment: The company is classified under SIC 46520 (wholesale of electronic and telecommunications equipment), though its principal activity description references CCTV, IP CCTV, and video surveillance equipment specifically.